Rome’s Most Underrated Attraction: The Tiber River

IMG_3297

Maybe its because I’m a Pisces. Maybe it’s because I can’t swim and like to taunt myself by staring at bodies of water and hanging out at Santa Marinella beach pretending to swim :p. Either way, one of my favourite places in Rome on a sunny day is the Tiber River. Walking down the riverside and descending down away from the chaotic Roman traffic (the sound is at least partially blocked out) and strolling along the Tiber is just incredible. The river bank is completely empty, though the odd cyclist/jogger/illegal vendor cycles/jogs/saunters past, you pretty much get the river to yourself. The reflection of the bridge on the water is bella! On warm days you can usually take part in watersports here or take a cruise downriver. Here are some of my photos, enjoy!

IMG_3296

IMG_3289

IMG_3288

IMG_3285

IMG_3284

And just today after work, walking around the maze that is Rome, I happened upon the river and saw this gorgeous sunset over the Vatican:

541904_10201194492038390_1353152250_n

Beautiful sights like these are why I always carry my digital camera around in Rome. Its also why I was really angry that I forgot it today so the sunset photo is from my phone..

Arrivederci!

One thought on “Rome’s Most Underrated Attraction: The Tiber River

  1. […] and chose two delicious flavours of gelato (chocolate and Sicilian almonds) and wandered over towards the river and caught the sunset by the Vatican next to the Corte de Cassazione, the grandest building in […]

Leave a Reply

